Skip to Main Content

Movers and Shakers: Student leaders are honored at awards ceremony

On Wednesday, April 28, 2010, the college community celebrated an essential part of Capitol’s core values, leadership, at the 2nd annual Student Leadership Awards Ceremony.

The theme of the night was derived from one of President Obama's speeches about civic engagement and social responsibility. “Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time,” he said. “We are the one's we've been waiting for. We are the change that we seek.” The following students were honored for their dedication and hard work on campus:

Trailblazers Marc Fruchtbaum Edward Hintze Demetri Holt Beyan Johnson Raekala Middleton Thalida 'T' Noel Ahmed Tariq

Trailblazer of the Year Michelle Elie

Emerging Leaders (this award recognizes the contributions of rising freshmen and sophomores) Kevin Dozier Davin Williams

Emerging Leader of the Year Artis Jones

Student Leader of the Year Maurice VanLandingham

Lifetime Achievement Award (this award recognizes the continuous contributions of a graduating senior throughout their time at Capitol both as a leader and as a role model) Herman Felder

Several student organizations were also recognized during the ceremony:

Rising Star Capitol College Entertainment (CCE)

Student Organization of the Year Student Leadership Advisory Board (S-LAB)

The following Faculty and Staff were honored:

Advisor of the Year Professor Angela Walters

Best Friend of Student Activities Evening security guard, Jerry Mutter

To view more photos from the Student Leadership Awards, become a fan of the college on Facebook.